ABA Board Changes, BAC and Diversity Task Force Appointments

The American Booksellers Association board of directors has approved the nominating committee's recommendation of three board members for three-year terms, Bookselling This Week reported. The three are: Kenny Brechner of Devaney Doak & Garrett Booksellers in Farmington, Maine; Christine Onorati of WORD in Brooklyn, N.Y., and Jersey City, N.J., both of whom would be new board members; and Jamie Fiocco of Flyleaf Books in Chapel Hill, N.C., who would be serving her second term. They will be voted on this spring.

The board also selected current vice-president Robert Sindelar of Third Place Books in Lake Forest Park, Wash., for a two-year term as president, and Jamie Fiocco to serve as vice-president/secretary.

Board members who leaving are president Betsy Burton of the King's English Bookshop, Salt Lake City, Utah; John Evans of DIESEL, A Bookstore in Oakland, Larkspur, and Brentwood, Calif.; and Matthew Norcross of McLean and Eakin Booksellers, Petoskey, Mich.

Ballots, which will be sent ABA members in April and must be returned by May 2, include space for write-in candidates. Members can petition to have candidates added to the ballot so long as they are members and are supported by at least 25 members, among other qualifications; the deadline is March 17.

In related news, following up on actions announced at the Winter Institute, ABA president Betsy Burton has appointed seven booksellers to the Booksellers Advisory Council and 10 booksellers to the new Diversity Task Force. See them here.

Powered by: Xtenit