Awards: Bodley Medal; Parliamentary Books

Author Kazuo Ishiguro will receive the Bodley Medal, which is awarded by the Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the worlds of literature, culture, science and communication. He will be presented with the award April 3 at the FT Weekend Oxford Literary Festival when he delivers the annual Bodley Lecture.


Winners were announced for this year's Parliamentary Book Awards, as voted for by MPs and members of the House of Lords. Launched in 2016 by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association, the awards "champion the best of political writing and celebrate the link between politics and publishing." The shortlist was voted for by U.K. bookshops, with parliamentarians voting on the winner in each category.

Tessa Jowell and Frances D'Souza won best memoir by a Parliamentarian for The Power of Politicians; Jesse Norman best nonfiction book by a Parliamentarian for Adam Smith: What He Thought and Why it Matters; and Isabel Hardman best political book by a non-Parliamentarian for Why We Get the Wrong Politicians.

Meryl Halls, managing director of the Booksellers Association, said: "This year's shortlist was made up of a range of thought-provoking titles for Parliamentarians to choose from, and the winners reflect that, querying our political system and those working within it. With winners as topical and carefully considered as these, the awards continue to highlight the partnership between politics and booksellers."

Powered by: Xtenit