Awards: NBCC Winners; Dr. Tony Ryan Semifinalists

Winners of the National Book Critics Circle Awards, which were announced last night in New York City, are:

Fiction: Milkman by Anna Burns (Graywolf)
Nonfiction: Directorate S: The C.I.A. and America’s Secret Wars in Afghanistan by Steve Coll (Penguin)
Poetry: The Carrying by Ada Limón (Milkweed)
Biography: Flash: The Making of Weegee the Famous by Christopher Bonanos (Henry Holt)
Autobiography: Belonging: A German Reckons With History and Home by Nora Krug,  (Scribner)
Criticism: Feel Free: Essays by Zadie Smith (Penguin)

The John Leonard Prize was presented to Tommy Orange for There There (Knopf); the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing to Maureen Corrigan; and the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award to Arte Público


Six semifinalists have been selected for the 13th annual Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award, which honors a fiction and nonfiction that have "a horse racing premise or backdrop." The $10,000 winner will be announced April 10. The semifinalists are:

Out of the Clouds: The Unlikely Horseman and the Unwanted Colt who Captured the Sport of Kings by Linda Carroll and David Rosner
Around Kentucky With the Bug! by Patrick Lawrence Gilligan
Dixie Luck by Andy Plattner
Monsieur X by Jamie Reid
Taking Shergar: Thoroughbred Racing's Most Famous Cold Case by Milton C. Toby
A Stone's Throw by James W. Ziskin

Powered by: Xtenit