Awards: Pacific Northwest Book Winners; Story Prize Finalists

Winners have been unveiled for the 2021 Pacific Northwest Book Awards, sponsored by the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association. The winning titles were selected by a volunteer committee of independent booksellers from 400 nominated titles published in 2020. This year's winners are: 

  • Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas (Swoon Reads/Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan)
  • Lupe Wong Won't Dance by Donna Barba Higuera (Levine Querido)
  • The Magical Language of Others: A Memoir by E.J. Koh (Tin House Books)
  • Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)
  • rough house by Tina Ontiveros (Oregon State University Press)
  • This Is My America  by Kim Johnson (Random House Books for Young Readers)


The finalists for the Story Prize, honoring the outstanding short story collection published in 2020, are:

  • Likes by Sarah Shun-lien Bynum (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
  • The Office of Historical Corrections by Danielle Evans (Riverhead Books)
  • The Secret Lives of Church Ladies by Deesha Philyaw (West Virginia University Press)

Instead of the usual reading and award event at the New School in New York City, the Story Prize will post a video online on March 10 consisting of short readings and interviews with each of the three finalists, the announcement of the winner and the acceptance of the award. The winning writer receives $20,000 and an engraved silver bowl. The two runners-up will each receive $5,000.

Powered by: Xtenit